Sustainable ME journey

Posted: September 23, 2012 in Remain and Sustain(ability)

I must admit I have been quite successful over these last two weeks with my initiative to conserve the amount of water I usually waste. The challenge was certainly being mindful of turning off the water while I brushed my teeth, waiting on the shower, even the amount of time while in the shower. I used this water calculator to help me track my usage and if I was truly doing justice for the environment by lowering my consumption of water usage on a daily basis. Check out this link to see how you can improve your water use patterns, this calculator includes a tracker for household activities both inside and outside of your home on a daily, monthly or yearly basis http://www.csgnetwork.com/waterusagecalc.html.

Water Conservation: You must be the difference

Imagine your small impact with changes to your patterns and how you consume water. After I calculated the use of my water over these last two weeks, I have made a difference.  According to the Desert Water Agency, my household uses less  than the per capita amount at 25915 gallons every year. Not only does water recycling saves on water waste it also contributes to saving energy.  This leads me to my next venture on saving energy because I have negative behaviors that contribute to my high electricity bill, such as leaving most of all the lights on even when I am not occupied in those areas. I leave the television on while I am using my laptop,appliances plugged in while not in use, and my list of behaviors are a mile long. However, I can say that since my awareness with water conservation by not leaving the water running, taking shorter showers, washing when the temperatures are at the lowest of the day, using a water filter instead of buying water every week, brings me several steps closer to reaching a sustainable goal that I can accomplish. Join me next week for another journey on how I can now reduce my energy levels.

Need more tips on how to conserve water? Enjoy the video below…and start your sustainable efforts today!

MB

References:

   Water Recycling. (n.d). Desert Water. Retrieved on September 27, 2012 from http://www.dwa.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=42&Itemid=97

Water conservation tips-How to conserve at home video. (n.d). Retrieved on September 28, 2012 from http://www.howdini.com/howdini-video-6697139.html.

Comments
  1. Qingxiang An says:

    I am glad that you have seen the positive effectiveness for what you have done in these two weeks. Usually people don’t know what they are doing and spend more money for what they done.You are making an excellent process. Cheers.

  2. I love that water calculator! I’m going to have to use that! Thanks for the great idea 🙂

    After reading more about water conservation tips and facts, I REEEEALLY think I need to cut down on my shower time! Look at THIS!…

    “An American family of four uses up to 260 gallons of water in the home per day.

    Running tap water for two minutes is equal to 3-5 gallons of water.

    A five minute shower is equal to 20-35 gallons of water.

    A full bath is equal to approximately 60 gallons of water.”

    UCLA Sustainability. (2012). Ucla sustainability fun facts. Retrieved from http://www.sustain.ucla.edu/handbook/article.asp?parentid=3465

  3. I comment each time I especially enjoy a post on a website or if I have
    something to add to the discussion. Usually it is a result
    of the passion displayed in the post I read. And on this
    post Sustainable ME journey | Hot Topics & Cool Trends. I was actually moved enough to post a thought 🙂 I actually do have a couple of questions
    for you if you don’t mind. Is it only me or does it give the impression like some of the responses come across as if they are coming from brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are posting on other social sites, I’d like
    to follow you. Would you list all of all your community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    • MBlack says:

      Thank you for your response. I can say many have yet to understand sustainability. This blog is primarily intended for school assignments which inspire true feelings from the world around us. I do not post much on any other sites, however, I will in the near future. Keep watching-MB

Leave a Reply

