Sustainable ME…To be continued-H20 conservation practices

Posted: October 6, 2012 in Remain and Sustain(ability)

As we discussed last week about my practices on saving and reducing my water consumption, I have yet to feel like I have made positive contributions this week. Habits are hard to break, but I am now very conscious about not leaving water to run while I brush my teeth, or wait to get in the shower. I focused another week to reducing my water footprint because I can do more, and I find that water is essential for our daily needs, not just for humans but for our environment as well.

This week, I actually made handout for my apartment complex, called, “Reduce the use,” this handout listed many great practices for my neighbors, and for myself to implement. I want to make this my largest contribution as I focus on water conservation.

Conserving water can also extend the life your septic system by reducing soil saturation, and reducing any pollution due to leaks. The smaller amount of water flowing through these systems, the lower the likelihood of pollution (25 ways to conserve water in the home and yard, 2012).

Below you will find a sample of great practices that I included in my pamplet that can also help your contribution and help keep our water abundant.

*** Check faucets and pipes for leaks – A small drip from a worn faucet washer can waste 20 gallons of water per day. Larger leaks can waste hundreds of gallons.

*** Do  not use the toilet as an ashtray or wastebasket- Every time you flush a cigarette butt, facial tissue, or other small bit of trash, five to seven gallons is wasted.

   —75% of water used is in the bathroom, and 25% of this is for the toilet

*** Take shorter showers- One way to cut down on water use is to turn off the shower after soaping up, then turn back on to rinse. A four minute shower uses approximately 20 to 40 gallons of water.

Changes made in our home will add up quickly in neighborhoods across the country. If one in every 10 American homes upgrades a full bathroom with WaterSense labeled fixtures, we could save about 74 million gallons of water and about $1.6 billion in our utility bills nationwide per year (EPA).

I have made significant changes in my behaviors because I am guilty in my efforts and I have lacked responsibility in my awareness of my behaviors to save water.  Make the commitment today and REDUCE YOUR USE~

MB

                         References:

Connect with Watersense.(2012). EPA. Retrieved on October 6, 2012 from http://www.epa.gov/owm/water-efficiency/our_water/connect_with_watersense.html

25 ways to conserve water in the home and yard. (2012). Eartheasy. Retrieved on October 6, 2012 from http://eartheasy.com/live_water_saving.htm

Comments
  1. Qingxiang An says:

    I’d like to say water wasting is one of the most serve issues all over the world, For my personal experience, I sometimes could turn off the faucet immediately, but sometime I could not focus on it because it is really hard although I know I was wasting water. I tried my best to save the water as much as I can.

Leave a Reply

