-More On My Green Movement..Ready..Set..Hit The Switch!-

Posted: October 14, 2012 in Remain and Sustain(ability)

     What a journey thus far! I am about a month in with keeping track of my sustainability journey, and conserving water has not only made me aware of my bad habits, but I have also learned quite a bit on how I negatively affect my environment, my future, and generations yet to come.  I will be more excited when I see the water bill for my apartment as well as my entire apartment complex. Last week, I implemented a brochure that gave my neighbors an outlook on how to reduce their own water footprint, which ideally helps reduce the use, and to initially save monthly on the water utility bill. I am going to push the envelope a little further over the next few weeks to see if I can get this brochure or a small outline of tips on the apartment complex website. It’s all about awareness, right? Not too certain on the outcome, but if I do not make the attempt, how will I ever know. So now that’s been said, I really, really should work on my waste of energy.

Save Money. One switch at a time!

Funny, I would rather waste energy to save energy. Think about it? Have you ever been in a room where you were watching television, noticed you left your phone downstairs, and instead of going back upstairs to watch television, you just turn on another one much closer to you? No? Or how about when you are just too exhausted from studying, in my case, or that one day you finished the first day of the Insanity workout, and instead of turning off the light, you pull the covers over your head? Technically that is still lights out. Not once have I ever thought about how saving energy could benefit me, or that wasting energy was a big deal. Now, it makes sense why my mother would always tell me I waste so much electricity growing up. I have and still have no regard for conserving energy. Well, that was then, now I am much more concern about my tomorrow. So this week, I have focused on some of the following ways to save energy, starting from my daily worst habits to those I can surely change. Ensure you do not repeat my opposite! Need help? Ready, Set, Switch your habits too!

  1.  Turning off the lights when there is no occupancy that area/ or when lights are not needed.
  2. Unplugging every appliance when not in use (Xbox360, Playstation3, Wii, phone charger, computer)
  3.  Washing clothes on a cold water temperature setting.
  4.  Change the light bulbs to those more efficient.
  5. Use more of the ceiling fans in each room rather than turning on the AC (Texas weather-unpredictable!)
  6. Ensure dishwasher is fully loaded before running.

My journey for the week is just beginning, but I know with practice makes perfect. Check out these no cost tips!

                                                                                      READY, SET, SWITCH…..

*Scrape do not rinse dishes before loading the dishwasher. Pre-rinsing can use up to 20 gallons of water.

*Open blinds and shades. Turn off lights in unoccupied areas or in spaces with sufficient natural lighting.

*Clean the lint from the clothes dryer after every load. The efficiency of the dryer goes down when lint collects over the dryer filter. Run full loads and use the moisture-sensing setting. Save 5% on your electric bill.

*Use microwave ovens to save energy. Microwave ovens are about 33% more efficient than convection ovens and 66% more efficient than conventional ovens.

 

MB

     References:

 Flex your Power. (n.d). Retrieved on October 14, 2012 from http://www.fypower.org/

A Flex Alert Means Save Energy Now. (n.d). Retrieved on October 14, 2012 from http://flexalert.org/

Comments
  1. I did not realize that microwave ovens are so much more energy efficient than convection and conventional ovens!

    I didn’t understand why you mentioned that using cold temperature setting, so I researched it and this is what I found:

    “Using less water will lower your water bill. And when you use less hot water, you’ll also see savings in your gas bill, or your electric bill if you have an electric water heater.” (Mother Earth News, 2012). That makes total sense to me now! Thank you for the great tips!

    Mother Earth News. 2012. 10 easy ways to save on energy at home. Retrieved from http://www.motherearthnews.com/Renewable-Energy/Save-Money-On-Energy.aspx?page=3#ixzz29xgnJtDQ

  2. MBlack says:

    You got it! More to come…

  3. In my standpoint, energy saving is hard to control because you have to keep going track what you have done currently and what you could do for next in order to save energy, although we have efficient bulb for lighting, we have effectiveness water suppling system (such as the infrared senser frucet.) the energy saving is still a hard jounery. However, glad to hear you have had positive result already.

  4. jrb329 says:

    I enjoyed your blog! I too can be a little lazy, which causes me to waste money, energy, and water. I also thought that it was cool that you gave out brochures to have a much bigger impact in your community, than just you.

Leave a Reply

