Countdown Contribution

Posted: November 28, 2012 in Remain and Sustain(ability), Technology

I hope everyone enjoyed the Thanksgiving holiday, I sure did! If you read my last entry, Leggo my Eco, I had held a contest among my friends and family to either re-sell or donate their electronics to help erase our e-waste. I must say I had a wonderful time because many people were excited about the purpose. Unfortunately, I wanted to post a picture of the winners but let’s say they are not camera friendly. Enjoy the generic ones.     😉

The contest brought in many older models of cellphones, even ones that still light up, have replaceable face plates, cracked screens, taped battery cover, and the list goes on.  There were some older/slightly newer appliances given away during last weeks contest that was not broke but will be donated to several organizations selected that would be put to good use.

I also found that back in 2009, Cleantech Recycler created what is called, EcoATM, which won $20, 000 first place award in the 10th annual,  “PitchFest” business plan competition. And in November, Coinstar named ecoATM as the winner of its “Big Idea” contest which included a $10, 000 check that was presented to ecoATM’s Mark Bowles at the KioskCom Self Service Expo in New York.

******EcoATM*****

ecoATM

I encourage everyone to think about the effects of our electronics and take those tips offered from the last blog regarding erasing e-waste. There are benefits. I guess you could say a win-win for everyone. I am waiting on my fat check for a total of $98.14 for my re-sell of two phones, and 1 old camera.  The top winner from the contest re-sold 5 phones, and a gaming electronic for a total of $247.02 and donated 2 cellphones to our military troops and to 911 for senior citizens to use for an emergency. The top winner for donations gave away several appliances and a few electronics that have been donated to several charity organizations in the Dallas area.  I feel like justice has been served and my efforts justified.

I will post all of my accomplishments during my journey that started in September later on this week. I hope you feel empowered to make those important changes as well to save our future generations from such unneccessary consumption and environmental concerns regarding landfills. I could go on and on, especially after seeing a special about coal ash on MSNBC.  WE can do this…one cellphone, one contribution, one change at a time!

MB

Comments
  1. WOW! I am so impressed with your ingenuity! Way to think outside the box and get your friends involved. You definitely deserve that check coming to you! 🙂

  2. Yes, you did a very good job about your journey. Indeed, how people use the electronics have changed the results either positively or negatively impact the sustainable development of energy consumption.

Leave a Reply

